Briton clinches FPA title in record style

17th September 2006

Southampton race ace Jon Barnes clinched the 2006 Formula Palmer Audi Championship in style this weekend, taking a record-breaking seven successive wins, and a record number of FPA points to lift the crown with one race in hand. The 22 year-old BRDC Rising Star, took victory in all three rounds, held at the magnificent Mugello circuit in the Tuscan region of Italy , to take his total to nine wins from the last ten rounds.

Round 13 got underway on Saturday morning following qualifying on Friday afternoon, when Jon posted the third quickest time. The 11 lap race, held on a wet track and with many large puddles, saw Jon make a perfect start to slot into second place behind pole-setter Viktor Jensen

As many drivers succumbed to the treacherous conditions, Jon concentrated on keeping a watching brief on his main title rival, and when the race leader made an error and slid wide, Jon wasted no time in taking the place. For the remaining 11 laps, Jon was in a class of his own, easing away to an 18 second lead and posting the fastest lap of the race on his final lap.

Race two started in the dry and this time, starting from pole position, Jon immediately took the lead with Jensen slotting in behind. For five laps, Jon held the lead until a move at San Donato saw Jensen move ahead and before Jon could retake the place, the rain returned causing several drivers to crash, bringing out the red flag.

At the restart and after changing onto wet tyres, Jon led the field away from pole position for a three-lap sprint to the chequered flag, holding on to lead Adam Smith to a four second victory, his eighth in nine races to take the title. Fastest lap in race two also went to Jon, which he posted on the final lap.

The final race of the weekend, Round 15 took place on a soaking wet track this afternoon and in atrocious conditions, Jon surged ahead at the start from third on the grid to take an immediate lead. Thereafter the ‘rain master' extended his lead over the experienced Niki Faulkner to take an untroubled ninth win by more than ten seconds and his third fastest lap of the weekend.

'It's been a great year and I must thank my mum and dad for supporting me all the way through!' said a jubilant Barnes. “I feel satisfied that we went out and did what we had to do to win the title. To be honest the hard work was done at Snetterton and Dijon so coming here the pressure was off.

“I knew I only had to finish in the top six in each race but to win all three races with fastest lap is a fantastic way to end the season!

As usual, Hay Fisher Productions filmed the action, which will be broadcast on Motors TV at the following times: Race one: 28 th September 20.30, 29 th September 07.30, 29 th September 18.00, 30 th September 16.00, 2 nd October 15.30, 4 th October 14.00.

Race two will be broadcast at 5 th October 20.30, 6 th October 02.30, 6 th October 18.00, 7 th October 11.00, 9 th October 16.00, 10 th October 00.30, 11 th October 07.30, 11 th October 20.00.

Results of Race 1 – 11 laps

1 JON BARNES 25:38.887

2 Viktor Jensen 25:57.222

3 Adam Smith 25:59.529

4 Tom Haines 26:30.021

5 Niki Faulkner 26:35.275

6 Stephen Young 26:40.438

Fastest lap: JON BARNES 2:17.086 On lap 11 85.58mph 137.73kph

Results of Race 2 – 3 laps

1 JON BARNES 7:02.708

2 Adam Smith 7:06.783

3 Niki Faulkner 7:11.912
4 Giacomo Petrobelli 7:17.156

5 Viktor Jensen 7:22.519

6 Tom Haines 7:22.761

Fastest lap: JON BARNES 2:18.534 On lap 3 84.69mph 136.29kph

Results of Race 3 – 11 laps

1 JON BARNES 25:31.033

2 Niki Faulkner 25:41.289

3 Viktor Jensen 25:49.991

4 Giacomo Petrobelli 26:18.241

5 Chris Hyman 26:41.031

6 Paul Warren 27:01.094

Fastest lap: JON BARNES 2:17.772 On lap 7 85.16mph 137.05kph

Final championship points after Round 15

1. Jon Barnes 326pts

2. Viktor Jensen 276pts

3. Chris Hyman 237pts

4. Giacomo Petrobelli 186pts

5. Tom Haines 180pts

6. Chris Bell 154pts


For media information: Cathy Metcalfe, MPR Associates

Tel: +44 (0) 1327 352199

Mob: +44 (0) 7802 332398


Jon Barnes Racing 2023